Summary of Sustainable Art Project

Project Plan

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Aim

Can I earn a living with Art?

I want to experience earning money and maintaining life with Art.

Objective

Balance the needs of living and principle of making Art.

Experience how to survive after graduation from Bachelor of Art.

Try to understand the difficulties of selling Art and try to solve them.

Answer the question, why we will be starved if doing Art?

Reason

Doing art = being poor?

Do artists need other jobs to earn a living?

Should artists avoid talking about money?

Duration  

From March to May in 2015

How to Earn Money

I sold Artworks on streets, flea markets & internet.

Content of Works

Paintings and drawings are extended from my Higher Diploma Fine Art Graduation work Curtain.

Target of money earned

Tuition Fee is my each month target and it is $ 6783.3/month.

Sale in the internet Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I develop pages on facebook and Instagram to share and sell my artworks.

I made a blog to record my works and projects, but it takes time to build up and be noticed.

There is no work sold via three online platforms.

Profit

Income Cost
Painting B5

Painting B4

Drawing A2

Total

$700

$800

$300

 

$1800

Transport fee

1ts vending

2nd vending

3rd vending

4th vending

5th vending

6th vending

Rent for YMCA

Wooden frames

Wood rod

Frames

Watercolour paper

Others

Total

$58.4

$93. 6

$21.2

$93

$66. 6

$41.2

$374

$200

$50

$13

$69

$38

$22

$766

Balance

$1800

$766

  $ 1034

Problems in this project  Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Place

– I need to avoid being dispelling by guards or staff for environmental management such as FEHD.

– Selling painting is not convenient for packing and leaving quickly.

– Nice places are distant.

Helpers

It is difficult for me to ask someone to spend their holiday for my project.

Weather

Raining stopped twice vending.

Feeling not good

– I am not used to sell my works on streets. I am afraid of all the works are taken away by FEHD.

– Also, I was worried about my works getting dirty and destroyed on street or during transport.

– I felt stressful before the days of vending.

Time consuming

– I do artworks slowly so I can only make not much amount of works.

– Travelling time for distant places can be 4 hours in total each time.

Not popular

– Fine art is not a popular subject like trendy clothes or bags. It is not functional and people cannot wear it to show their good taste.

– My works are in dark colour tone. It is not cheerful for general public.

Online sale

It takes time to be noticed unless I try some hard selling method such as leaving advertising wordings on famous people pages. However, I do not agree with that.

Too passive

I just wait for buyers or chances.

IMG_1857

Suggestions for the problems Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Searching routes of sales

Street vending may not be suitable for selling painting. Flea market will be a better place as table will be provided and no dispelling. However, most of the flea market require rent range $200 – $400. Also, the target group of flea market may not be interested in fine art. I still need to search and try.

Consignment for sale in Creative Cube

It is a good trial to sell works in a better environment and Tsim Sha Tsui Ferry concourse is a popular place for visitors. Also, I do not need to spend time waiting for sale.

Favour

I searched the range between favour of me and general people. I tried some brighter colour in my painting and the feedback was good. I need to try different kind of works such as portrait drawing on street and online.

Convenient

I use canvas instead of photo frame or unframed cloth for lower cost and easier transport. I will make works in sizes that can be put in suitcase

Passive

I should be more aggressive to search suitable locations and flea market. I need to explore different possibility such as workshop and teaching. Also, I should chat with people more often.

Leave a comment