Sustainable Art Project – Third vending

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Venue: Shau Kee Creative School

Date: 3.5.2015

Time: 2:30pm-6:50pm

My works: 7 Paintings & 13 drawings

Man power: June and Zero (my friend)

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE This time I had no plan for this vending. I did not know where should I vend and I cannot find a helper. However, a friend (Zero) told me that he invited me to vend in his secondary school (Shau Kee). I knew the visitors for the school open day will not be my target group, but it is good to have a stable place for vending half day.

Several people chatted with me and I received a comment like “Sorrow city” (“悲情城市, 天水圍城”) due to dark colour tone. Someone said my works like firing inside the house. It is good to hear different comment and know how other people see my works. I never try to create sadness in my works. However, I have a mood of missing.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

A teacher working in Shau Kee said Hello to Zero and Zero introduced my project to him. He looked at my works and listened to my brief explanation. After that, He pointed to one larger painting and said, “I bought this one.” It is unbelievable! I asked him, ” Are you serious? YOU WANT to BUY this?” He smiled and told me he really wanted it and went to pick his purse.

Tai Wo Estate, Tai Po, NT 2015 60cm x 50cm  Acrylic on bleached cloth
Tai Wo Estate, Tai Po, NT
2015
60cm x 50cm
Acrylic on bleached cloth

His reasons for purchasing:

  • He liked the fabric medium and bleaching effect.
  • The composition presenting public housing estate is interesting.
  • The image is intimate to him as he lives in Tai Po.
  • He wants to support young artists.

I wanna scream again!

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREA boy read my documentation and spent a long time looking at my works. He was interested in my bleaching effect as the colour is so dark and the effect like tie – dye. We chatted for a long time. He was raising money for making movie about Freedom of Tibet. We blessed each other.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Woman asked me “ Why do you try to do art if you know that is so difficult?” This project is answering it! It is challenging and interesting that we do something that lots of people cannot do it. It is difficult but I want to do it and I like to do it.

Summary:

  • Friend is important.
  • My works are recognizable! One boy said he remembered my graduation work in my graduation show and he recognized my works now!
  • I have to be patient to wait and see.
  • It is good to have some chatting with people.
  • You Never Know What Will Be Happened Next Moment.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Leave a comment